Marcionism, Moroccan Oil & Call Me Maybe

Here’s 3 of my recent encounters.

Marcionism. Encountering a “grace-preacher” endorsed by a close relative, I discerned that somehow this grace-preaching was missing something. It’s something to preach about the grace of God that we can avail of because of what Jesus has done for us on the cross. But to preach the grace of God without truth is wrong. Grace and truth always goes together. It always grace AND truth, not either, or. When I asked my husband about this grace-preacher (with initials I leave to you, J.P., definitely NOT John Piper, NOT Jose Pidal), he confirmed that this preacher was leading to an error called Marcionism or dualism.

1 Marcionists believed that the “wrathful” Hebrew God was a separate and lower entity than the all-forgiving God of the New Testament.

For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ. (John 1:17 ESV)

God’s grace and truth can never be compromised.

Do we then overthrow the law by this faith? By no means! On the contrary, we uphold the law. (Romans 3:31 ESV)

Moroccan Oil. My grandmother claims that there’s lots of fake but hers is an original. It’s her new shampoo and conditioner Moroccan oil. I’ve tried it a couple of times and it actually volumized my super-straight hair to a new level. I like it. It’s made in Israel.

20120605-083942.jpg
Try Me!

 

Call Me Maybe. I do NOT at all agree with the message of this song but it can give you the Last Song Syndrome (LSS). I once heard Mr. Ravi Zacharias say that music shows the culture and philosophy of a certain place and age.

2 Here’s lyrics of the song.

I trade my soul for a wish, pennies and dimes for a kiss I wasn’t looking for this, but now you’re in my way
Your stare was holdin’, Ripped jeans, skin was showin’ Hot night, wind was blowin’ Where you think you’re going, baby?
Hey, I just met you,and this is crazy,but here’s my number,so call me, maybe?

Okay so that’s just a few lines from the song. The philosophy is obviously humanistic and unbiblical. Know what you sing and hear. Faith comes from hearing. I’m so glad it is possible to raise the next generation towards Godly passion and purpose.

 

20120605-083931.jpg
They plan to make the “Call Me Maybe” song into a discipleship song. (Kara de Leos and Adel Yao)

Sources for 1 and 2.

2 thoughts on “Marcionism, Moroccan Oil & Call Me Maybe

  1. As per my views, Moroccan oil is the product which can provide you a great output, it shows it’s result after 3 months and after all your hair looking will be as great as you ever wanted!

  2. We love Moroccan Oil products here at our Salon as well. It’s one of our best sellers both online and out the door. Just wanted to give a heads up, we have a limited time 4.2oz bonus size of the Moroccan Oil available for the 3.4oz price. Last time Moroccan Oil did this limited run, the promotion lasted about two months – or until they ran out of stock. So I’m guessing these will be available through August and possibly into September. Considering the price, it’s a great deal! Thanks! http://www.haircareusa.com/moroccan_oil.htm

Leave a Reply

