Oatmeal Arroz Caldo {perfect for the rainy days}

My good friend/mentor Ate Eva Ng shared to me this good recipe. I actually found this exciting since I’ve been feeling pukey everytime I made oatmeal for breakfast for me & dear husband for the longest time.

This is the best altenative for the traditional milk-sugar-oatmeal mix.

Ingredients:
Oatmeal
Chicken breast (sliced into cubes)
Salt & pepper
1 teaspoon Butter
Ginger (strips or can be chopped)
Onion (chopped)
Cooking oil (corn or canola)
Chicken boullion cube (Knorr)

For variation:
Ox tripe (sliced in strips)
Fried garlic, boiled egg & chives for garnish

Sautee chicken & ox tripe with onion & ginger in oil. Add salt & pepper to taste. When brown, add 3 cups of water & BTB (bring to boil). Let the meat tenderize. I like to leave it for 1 1/2 hours so that the meat is really soft and almost falling apart. Add water, chicken cube & butter.

Add oatmeal as desired. The amount of oatmeal affects the thickness of your mix. Make sure it isn’t too dry when served.

I didn’t do it but it will look yummier with the garnish, they can also add more flavor.

Apologies. I wasn’t able to take a picture because it was gone before i even thought about blogging it. Husband & I liked it so much.

I will share more recipes I get from friends here.

Enjoy the rainy days!!

Leave a Reply

