My Husband Noticed…

My husband noticed… my cracked nail polish.

A week ago, I had my nails done by my favorite salon right across DLSU. By nighttime, I had shown my husband my new nails, crisp and clean. There is something about women, most if not all, and nail polish. For some reason I have made pedicure/manicure a part of my monthly “sanity fund” just to make sure I am sane as a woman as I face the challenges in life. Yes, women are affected when their nails, hair, skin are not treated well. “Affected” in such a way that it contributes to (but not dictates) the way we “feel” and “react.”

I remember one evening, I was with a woman and she told me transparently how she reacted that day to the challenges of her season and somehow what made it worse was when she realized that her bag is punit (torn) already. It’s amazing how I can relate to what she’s feeling simply because we are both women. The great thing about this woman is her faith & security is deeply anchored in Christ.

Going back to my nail polish, yes they were crisp & clean until Monday, the day I held knives and carrots and did some chopping and slicing for my spaghetti (yes to carrots in my spaghetti). I was horribly chopping my nail polish here and there as well.

Three days after, what shocked me was that Daniel noticed my nails. He asked, “Sira na?” while holding my nails. I said, “Yep, when I cooked last Monday.” It’s a simple joy for me that my husband noticed the tiniest concern I have in life. I am thankful that he understands (though not fully) my wiring as a woman and the aspects I’m affected.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not trying to tell you to indulge yourself in the ‘externals.’ I am just bringing about the awareness that yes, we have those days of feeling, sensing and expressing, hopefully not overreacting. I believe that’s part of God’s design for us women. And that looking great & beautiful is part of a healthy lifestyle.

At the end of the day, the real score is that Someone noticed us first before anyone else.

Song of Songs 4:7,9 You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you. You have captivated my heart, my sister, my bride; you have captivated my heart with one glance of your eyes…

Leave a Reply

