Babysitting 101

As newlyweds, me and my husband Daniel managed to split the holidays one part for Trinidads and the other part for Quiaoits (that’s my maiden surname). Daniel knows this, I was too excited to be in Batac again, my hometown, because of the comfort of having house help I could sneak out from house chores I have back home and enjoy my nephew and niece. And have fun.

Since my sister was working yesterday, I was in charge of babysitting my 2-year-old niece Olivia. Cute name right? She calls me Tita ‘Shal’ instead of Char. Olivia is a funny, loving, music-lover, kind, playful, smart little girl.

Daniel and I have been praying for a baby for almost a year already and in all God’s wisdom, He has not yet given us one yet. Raising a child is not a joke. And so we wait in the fullness of God’s timing and when our character is “ready.” Although our own strength, abilities and character will never be sufficient, God’s grace will always be.

Olivia obeyed and disobeyed. Disobedience is part of our lives. I’m not saying it’s essential but it is a part. We commit mistakes. That is why we teach kids, people to obey. Because somehow, it is not natural for us to obey. We often choose our own ways rather than God’s ways. Our terms rather than His terms. Our timing rather than His timing.

In the roller coaster of Olivia’s obey, disobey, I find myself under the mercies of God in my own saga of obeying and disobeying God. We often choose to learn the hard way when God wants us to learn it straight from Him. When heartaches, hurts and devastation have bombarded us, that’s the time we go back to Him.

Babysitting is both tiring and fun. Now I wonder if it even comes close to parenting, which I know is really hard work. The Bible says, “Train a child in the way he should go and when he is old he will not depart from it.” Nevertheless, I’m excited to become pregnant. 😉

Here’s a few photos, with fun embedded in each captured moments!

I was telling her to show winnie (the beany puppy) in the camera.

20130103-232001.jpg

A fun evening! Playtime before bedtime.

20130103-232044.jpg

 

I was just letting her clean the house while I sat on the couch.

20130103-232112.jpg

 

Hooray for kisses and big bellies. On our way to Kid’s Church at Victory Batac!

20130103-232150.jpg

 

Olivia and her Christmas sock filled with candies.20130103-232250.jpg

Just goofing around!20130103-232235.jpg

 

Super hungry Olivia bites onto a napkin holder. Tito Daniel was in charge of feeding her.

20130103-232442.jpg

Happy New Year everyone!!!! 20130103-232320.jpg

I was telling her to remove the plastic container off her face, but she wanted to havce her picture taken with it. Shells on the side: evidence of activity. I asked her to count the shells, to keep her busy. She’s actually seated on a center table!20130103-232408.jpg

She said she’s finished eating so…20130103-232453.jpg

Here’s her real face. Plus winnie’s turn to be in the container naman.20130103-232427.jpg

The End.

Leave a Reply

