The Highest Standard

I think that serving others would take probably a lifetime for me to learn.

I grew up with house helps. Rather than learning house chores as a kid, I would be asked to “go do something else” and help instead when I grow up. That’s what my mom and my grandmother used to tell me. I’m not sure if it helped me. Hehe. So I’d wake up and food is already served on the table, eat, put my plate in the sink and prepare for school. However, as the eldest, much responsibility was given to me like fixing the bed and folding huge heavy sheets. But serving others is not usually reflected because of an obligation or a responsibility.

What then does serving others mean? Serving others means loving others. You fold the sheets not because you HAVE to, but because you LOVE others. That others can be your husband, parent, brother, sister or everybody!

As 2013 started, I decided to follow YouVersion’s verse of the day, read the full chapter and have it as my devotion. Interestingly, what I have been reflecting for 4 days already boil down to one thing— love.

January 01, 2013. The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; His mercies never come to an end, they are new every morning, great is Your faithfulness. (Lamentations 3:22, 23)

January 02, 2013. Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all our might.

January 03, 2013. Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good. Be devoted to one another in love. Honor one another above yourselves. Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse. Live in harmony with one another. Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position. Do not be conceited. (Romans 12 Love in Action)

January 04, 2013. Love…does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

God’s standard for us His children is very high I’d have to say. “Love one another as I have loved you, and this they will know that you are my disciples.” He even tells us to love our enemies.

I could say it is not natural for us to serve, also not natural for us to love. We could say a thousand excuses and say a thousand rants, “I’m tired from work, I had to do this and that, I have been busy all day, all week, why does it have to be me always?” Sad to say, a lot of times I have caught myself having this attitude whenever I serve Daniel. When I cook for him, prepare his clothes, iron his clothes, clean our house so he can go home to it neat. I have also found myself grumbling whenever I see him resting and I have to do chores. I feel like it’s unfair. By the grace of God, and this I really cannot boast, I know that God has been correcting and rebuking me in so many ways. Man looks at outward appearance but God looks at the heart. I’d say God even knows the appearance and condition of my heart- yikes! The filth, dirt and stinky selfishness within. That’s it. It’s hard for us to serve because we are selfish.

Love is the highest standard. Love is being selfless. It may take a lifetime, but this year I am resolving to learn this. To serve God, to serve my husband, to serve others. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Highest Standard

Leave a Reply

