The Bump

One of the greatest moments in my life was when I woke up 5 AM of February 7, 2013 to have a urine test and in our dining area, wait for purple band/s to appear. This time, there were 2.

Image

Overwhelming joy and nervousness and excitement instantly filled our home. I didn’t wake Daniel up (partly because I didn’t know how to blurt out the news) but just when I went back to bed he was awakened and stood up to go to the bathroom. So I followed him, showed him the bands and we both, I could say, were awake.

We rejoiced in the Lord for our new season but it’s not without challenges (like any other season).

I was physically challenged. During my first trimester, I had morning sickness that caused me to be so disoriented. Take note, not all pregnant women have morning sickness. I did. Actually the name of the condition does not give justice to it since mine was an all-day sickness that gets worse in the afternoon. I had food aversions, suddenly I didn’t like my favorite foods and what I craved for were foods I am not used to eating. I had hyperacidity and indigestion. I would vomit, and after vomiting I would cry, and ask God, “Lord, are you still there?” Hehe. But there are a lot of practical things helpful for me available in books and articles on how to cope with hyperacidity and indigestion. So I researched and asked from moms who went through the same thing as I did. My conclusion about morning sickness, you will just learn how to go about it along the way, I promise.

I was spiritually challenged. Since everything was new to me, hello I’ve never been pregnant before, and I was in my respond-well and not-respond-well cycle, I was challenged to trust God and know that God is really with me. By my own, I couldn’t do it. But I believe it was only the grace and Spirit of God hovering around and empowering me so I could trust Him. I need not pray with eloquent words. I would just say what’s in my heart, “Lord I’m tired, scared and exhausted” and I would feel the reassurance of God comforting me, “I Am here.”

I was emotionally challenged. I cannot attest to the emotional turmoils and depressions that they say are hormonal, because I still believe in the grace of God in each season of our lives, but I did notice a kind of emotional challenge which for me was I became more sensitive and “feel-y.” Hormones will really shoot up in different heights this season but the key is, first, Jesus in our hearts, and second, the fruit of the Holy Spirit which is- love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness and self-control. There was a point where I became overly sensitive to Daniel and I got easily offended and hurt by him, but with the help of Godly people surrounding us we were able to adjust accordingly. Don’t let your sensitivity/emotions mask the roots of bitterness, ungratefulness, impatience and other character flaws that God wants to deal with you this season.

In my 5th month now, new challenges are still arising, but this season is meant to build me not to harm me. The Bible says, the Lord knows the plans that He has for us. From an Ortberg book, I am reminded that every season is an opportunity for growth. Let the challenges grow us not frustrate us, mold us not destroy us. And it comes from a right response unto what season the Lord has given us.

In Zephaniah 3:!7 it says, “The Lord your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save, He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you by His love, He will exult over you with loud singing.” He is indeed with us in every season.

Image

2 thoughts on “The Bump

  1. Char Char,
    It was so good to read something about you and what is new with you. Much congrats to you and Daniel. I hope I am kept abreast of what’s going on with you and praying the remainde of this “bumpy” time goes well! Too cute are you!!!!! Loveya, Dee

Leave a Reply

