Parenting Resource

I have heard this a lot of times, parenting is not an easy task. But the good news for FTMs (first-time moms) like me is I believe we can prepare for it. How clever God is to give the embryo a 9-month period of growth to give time for the mom to transition from a season of not having a baby to having one.

We can prepare though, not exhaustively. I believe that parenting is a learning process. Mistakes will be inevitable. But that should not stop us from preparing.

Here are my suggested parenting resources (for now):

1. The Bible. This is the best book, ever, for me, when it comes to parenting a child. God’s Word can not only enrich parents with life-giving instructions but empower them with wisdom and discernment through the grace of God.

I started reading the Book of Psalms again the other day and as I read Psalm 1 it says, “but his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night. He is like a tree planted by streams of water that yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither. In all that he does, he prospers.” (verses 2-3, ESV)

I would love my child to grow in biblical principles.

2. Shepherding A Child’s Heart by Tedd Tripp. This goes a long way for you and your child since it talks about parenting as a discipleship process from infant stage to teen stage.

3. Growingleaders.com by Tim Elmore. This blog provides leadership principles essential for parents and teachers.

That’s all for now! Please do comment and share your personal favorite resource below.

Leave a Reply

