Sparkly Eyes

It felt like forever before I was gonna start to blog again. Surely my new role as a mom has taken a big chunk of my schedule but honestly I have not yet deliberately made time to write again.

My “first” blog goes to Judah.

One can truly learn a lot from a child. It’s no wonder that Jesus has a heart for the little children.

Jesus said, β€œLet the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.” (Matthew 19:14 NIV)

Judah is so so so sooooo cute. He has his way of melting my heart- that hair that’s soft and at the same time standing, a nose that looks like mine, lips that purse and pout depending on how he feels, eyes that sparkle in wonder.

Wonder is something that children has in their eyes. It’s when I show Judah his toy every morning. It’s the same toy actually, but he never loses his wonder shown in his big round eyes.

One morning when I handed Judah his toy, he expressed wonder in his eyes and I told my husband, “Tignan mo yung eyes nya, may wonder, tayo wala nang ka-wonder wonder. Ang tanda na kasi.”

I believe wonder fades as we experience challenges and pain in this life. We become so familiar that we lose enthusiasm with the simple things. But with a child, a baby, a fresh life meeting a wonder-ful world, it is as if everything is new.

Wonder brings about childlikeness in us. It unlocks the simple joys we’ve familiarized ourselves with that we don’t even count anymore. It helps us remember God’s wondrous works. Wonder keeps our hearts from being calloused.

I wonder how we’d approach God as His children if we had that wonder. I wonder how we’d face trials and issues in life. I wonder how we’d respond in victories. I wonder how we’d view life. Probably we would see each day as a gift.

Do your eyes still have that “wonder”?

20140201-005512.jpg

20140201-005453.jpg

2 thoughts on “Sparkly Eyes

  1. Very nice post, Ate Char! It remember a part of the chapter ‘Dee Dah Day’ of the Life You’ve Always Wanted book by John Ortberg. Life should truly be celebrated everyday. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

