This is even better than independence.

When Judah started to walk last week, I thought to myself, hmmm the first taste of independence. I couldn’t explain the joy in my heart as I saw Judah walk on his own. And a momma right here is especially looking forward to Judah brushing his teeth or doing the potty on his own. Yet I am reminded of one of the most unforgetable preachings I heard this year back in our home church (spiritual family) Victory Malate, Manila, Philippines. Our pastor talked about teaching and training our children from dependence to shift-dependence.

There is nothing wrong with independence. Few years from now (yes they grow too fast), I will be a proud mom to a responsible human being paying his own rent and bills. There will come a point though that independence will not work in a sense, that is why aside from teaching them independence, we disciple them how to shift their dependence from parents to God.

Shifting dependence will cause them not to rely on us parents or on themselves but to God their Maker. My husband and I agreed that one of our greatest goals as parents is to teach our children make wise decisions at an early age and that will only come from a genuine relationship with God. The beauty of shift-dependence is you’ve got your Source, God. As a mom, I know that my efforts are limited. I would rather have my children depend on the One who is Unlimited- in presence, in power, in provision and in wisdom.

IMG_0697.JPG

Deuteronomy 4:7, 9 For what great nation is there that has a god so near to it as the LORD our God is to us, whenever we call upon him? Only take care, and keep your soul diligently, lest you forget the things that your eyes have seen, and lest they depart from your heart all the days of your life. Make them known to your children and your children’s children.

Leave a Reply

