#WifelyWednesday: joined for a purpose

IMG_0934.JPG
I came across this verse (highlighted) this morning as I was reading The Power of a Praying Wife by Stormie Omartian. I try to read 1 chapter a day and I can say it has been a great guide and inspiration for me in praying for Daniel. I end up encouraged all the time because of the truths jampacked in it. As for this verse, I am uplifted with these words- planted, flourishing, still bearing fruit IN OLD AGE! What a powerful word to declare upon our marriage.

All of us dream to live long and along with that, we want to thrive in our marriages. We wanna keep it forevermore. Kahit maputi na ang buhok mo. Up to the last hairfall of your grayest of hairs. The next verse also says- to declare that the Lord is upright. It reminds me that my husband and I are joined for a purpose. When marriage meets challenges, unanswered prayers and trials, my comfort is the truth that God has not forgotten the meaning that He has infused in our God-ordained relationship.

Enjoying some cheesy Ed Sheeran music last week, I sang, “Darling I’ll be loving you til 70…” And Daniel immediately cut me, “…70 lang? What if umabot siya ng 71?” Of course Daniel was goofing around and at the same time ruined my moment. Haha. But really, from the very beginning, our prayer as a couple is to reach upto a hundred years old, still loving each other, still married, still boldly preaching the Gospel, still living for the purposes of God.

I am blessed to have a wonderful, loving husband. A lot different from me, but sharing the same vision, values and faith. I am still curious how God had in mind matching a Daniel and a Char. It’s too wonderful to think about it. What’s more wonderful is that we get to do what we love to do together, to honor God and make disciples, and share life’s most beautiful adventures.

IMG_0538.JPG

Leave a Reply

